The European Bioenergetics Conference, EBEC The Peter Mitchell Medal and Lecture

Procedure

§1. This procedure has been designed by EBEC to ensure the value of the already traditional Peter Mitchell Medal & Lecture, and to make the nomination and decision procedures transparent and consistent between different EBEC conferences, in order to secure the highest scientific quality of this honour in memory of Peter Mitchell.

§2. At its Meeting at each EBEC, the EBEC international advisory committee should appoint a Peter Mitchell Medal & Lecture Committee (PMC) for the next EBEC Meeting, and appoint a Chairman for that Committee, as follows (§3).

§3. The <u>EBEC</u> Meeting elects the Chairman of the PMC from former PM Medal Awardees, and all former PM Medal winners should be invited to be members of the PMC. The <u>Chairman of the following EBEC will automatically be member and Executive Secretary</u> of the PMC. Four additional members of the PMC should be elected by the Meeting. Nominations for Chairman and for four additional members are taken from the floor, and decisions are made by majority vote.

§4. At the end of each EBEC, <u>a PM medal for presentation to the next awardee and these</u> <u>procedural rules</u> will be given to the Chairman of the next EBEC, along with the EBEC flag.

§5. The PMC Executive Secretary should start acquiring nominations for the recipient of the PM Medal & Lecture at least 12 months before the EBEC, and transfer the results to the members of the PMC at least 9 months before the EBEC.

§6. Nominations should be requested by the Executive Secretary from all members of the EBEC international advisory committee, from all national European Bioenergetics Groups, and from all previous recipients of the PM Medal & Lecture. Nominations from additional individuals or groups in the international bioenergetics community should also be accepted. To help the committee, the nomination should describe briefly the achievements of the nominee that qualify him or her for consideration for the award. The nomination should be accompanied by an up to date *curriculum vitae* of the candidate.

§7. The PMC will assess the nominations confidentially, led by its Chairman. The decision is made by majority vote in a ballot among the members. The Chairman has the casting vote, which decides in case of a tie. The decision should be made at least 6 months before the EBEC, and these proceedings, including names of nominees, should be kept strictly confidential.

§8. The chosen recipient of the PM Medal & Lecture should be given the decision by the local EBEC organisers, and be invited to present his/her lecture at the meeting, where it should be given a prominent place. The local organisers should waive the conference

registration fee for the Winner of the PM Medal & Lecture and, if finances allow, also cover travel and accommodation costs.

§9. The previous PM Medal & Lecture awardees are

1994 P. Leslie Dutton 1996 John E. Walker 1998 Wolfgang Junge 2000 Mårten Wikström 2002 Horst Witt † 2004 Harmut Michel 2006 Masasuke Yoshida 2008 David G. Nicholls 2010 Dieter Oesterhelt † 2012 Ron Kaback 2014 Robert B. Gennis 2016 Peter R. Rich 2018 Etana Padan 2022 Antony R. Crofts

§10. The PM Medal & Lecture will not be awarded twice to the same individual, except under very exceptional circumstances. If a member of the PMC is nominated for the PM Medal & Lecture, the nominee has the choice of either stepping down from PMC, or of renouncing the nomination.